# TEXAS CONSERVATION AWARDS PROGRAM

#### 2023 AREA 2 WINNERS

# 1. <u>OUTSTANDING CONSERVATION DISTRICT</u>

## **First Place**

District's Name: Gillespie County SWCD #220

Chairman's Name: Cade Bonn

Chairman's Hometown: Fredericksburg

# Runner-Up

District's Name: Medina Valley SWCD #226

Chairman's Name: William Reus

Chairman's Hometown: Hondo

## 2. CONSERVATION RANCHER

#### **First Place**

Winner's Name: J R Purvis Land and Cattle, LLC Hometown: Midland

District Submitting Entry: Mitchell SWCD #207

## Runner-Up

Winner's Name: Richard and Patty Gesin Hometown: Sweetwater

District Submitting Entry: Nolan County SWCD #245

## 3. <u>CONSERVATION FARMER</u>

#### **First Place**

Winner's Name: Allen Weishuhn Hometown: Vancourt

District Submitting Entry: Tom Green SWCD #248

# **TEXAS CONSERVATION AWARDS PROGRAM** - (page 2)

#### **2023 AREA 2 WINNERS**

## **CONSERVATION FARMER - continued**

# Runner-up

Winner's Name: Rollin and Matthew Mangold Hometown: La Coste

District Submitting Entry: Medina Valley SWCD #226

# 4. <u>ESSAY CONTEST</u> (ages 13 and under)

# **First Place**

Winner's Name: Bryson Woodson Hometown: Brackettville

District Submitting Entry: West Nueces-Las Moras SWCD #236

# **2nd Place**

Winner's Name: Taytum Chambless Hometown: Menard

District Submitting Entry: Menard County SWCD #215

#### **3rd Place**

Winner's Name: Jaxton Fullwood Hometown: Roscoe

District Submitting Entry: Nolan County SWCD #245

## **ESSAY CONTEST** (ages 14-18)

## **First Place**

Winner's Name: Katie Turner Hometown : Valley Spring

District Submitting Entry: Llano County SWCD #233

# **TEXAS CONSERVATION AWARDS PROGRAM** - (Page 3)

#### **2023 AREA 2 WINNERS**

# **2nd Place**

Winner's Name: Riley McCutcheon Hometown: Utopia

District Submitting Entry: Bandera SWCD #229

# 3rd Place

Winner's Name: Renee Pawlaczyk Hometown: Boerne

District Submitting Entry: Kendall SWCD #216

# 5. POSTER CONTEST (K-2)

# First place

Winner's Name: Isabella Cervantez Hometown: Brackettville

District Submitting Entry: West Nueces-Las Moras SWCD #236

# 2nd place

Winner's Name: Brynlee Critz Hometown: Sweetwater

District Submitting Entry: Nolan County SWCD #245

## 3rd place

Winner's Name: Brenley Cline Hometown: Big Spring

District Submitting Entry: Howard SWCD #243

## TEXAS CONSERVATION AWARDS PROGRAM - (page 4)

#### **2023 AREA 2 WINNERS**

# 6. POSTER CONTEST (3-6)

#### First place

Winner's Name: Seeley Maddox Hometown: Robert Lee

District Submitting Entry: Coke County SWCD #219

# 2nd place

Winner's Name: Bryson Woodson Hometown: Brackettville

District Submitting Entry: West Nueces-Las Moras SWCD #236

## 3rd place

Winner's Name: Lawson Hambright Hometown : Blackwell

District Submitting Entry: Nolan County SWCD #245

# 7. FRIEND OF CONSERVATION

Winner's Name: Keep Big Spring Beautiful Hometown: Big Spring

Winner's Title or Occupation: Non-Profit Organization

District Submitting Entry: Howard SWCD #243

# Runner-up

Winner's Name: Philip Walker Hometown: Ozona

Winner's Title or Occupation: Past President Ozona Chamber of Commerce

District Submitting Entry: Crockett County SWCD #235

# TEXAS CONSERVATION AWARDS PROGRAM - (Page 5) 2023 AREA 2 WINNERS

# 8. <u>CONSERVATION TEACHER</u>

# First place

Winner's Name: Mary Ann Abbott Hometown: Merkel

Title or Grade Taught: 5<sup>th</sup> Grade & UIL Coordinator

Winner's School and Location: Merkel Elementary, Merkel

District Submitting Entry: Middle Clear Fork SWCD #206

# 9. <u>WILDLIFE CONSERVATIONIST</u>

# **First Place**

Winner's Name : Gary Gardner Hometown : Junction

District Submitting Entry: Upper Llanos SWCD #225