The ATSWCD Board of Directors is comprised of one elected Director from each of the five State District Areas.  A Director serves a two-year term and an Alternate Director is also elected from each Area.  In addition, the immediate past president also serves as a member of the Board.  Officers are elected from among the Directors and may serve up to three one-year terms.

ATSWCD Board of Directors


Rick Schilling

State District 3

Bob Steakley

State District 2

Roy Thompson

State District 1

Vice President

Kent Batman

State District 4

J. C. Mathiews

State District 5

Immediate Past President

Volney Hough

State District 2

Tamara Daniel, Executive Director

Tamara Daniel is Executive Director of ATSWCD
The Five ATSWCD District Areas


       Glen Lyon             State District 1

       Ward Whitworth   State District 2

       Josh Storm            State District 3

       Ernest Collins       State District 4

       John Tate              State District 5

Bill Gray retires after more than 10 years as a Director of ATSWCD

Bill Gray Retires From ATSWCD Board
in 2021 After More Than 10 Years
of Service and Dedication
to Conservation and Agriculture

ATSWCD representatives at the U.S. Capitol during the annual Spring Fly-in
Bill Gray, ATSWCD Director for over ten years

“ Never without his signature hat and always a smile.”

Bill Gray, ATSWCD Director, meets with Texas Senator Ted Cruz

We have all come to know and love the big hat and even bigger personality during Bill Gray’s 10-plus years of service to the Association of Texas Soil and Water Conservation Districts.  Bill started his tenure with ATSWCD when he was elected to serve as the Alternate Director for Area 1 and was subsequently elected Director in 2016.  Bill announced his retirement in July 2021, after six years on the Board.


J.C. Mathiews, Area 5 Association Board member said of Bill, “I am sad to learn of Bill Gray’s retirement.  He’s always known to me as the man in the big Black Hat!  Bill has been a key director with the Association.  I have had the distinct privilege to attend many meetings, travel and spend personal time with Bill.  Whether it has been a national, state, area or local meeting, each time I walked away knowing our ATSWCD State Board and membership owe a big debt of gratitude to Bill for his personal time and dedication.  Bill, you will be missed by all of us!  I always enjoyed working with you and alongside you and let me say on behalf of all of us in Texas, ‘We All Thank You’ for everything you’ve done for us, the Association and Soil and Water Conservation Districts.  Congratulations on your retirement and I hope you find all those happy places in life it can bring.”                              

2018-2019 ATSWCD Board of Directors (left to right):  Kent Batman, District 4; Rickey James, immediate past president; Bill Gray, sec/treasurer, District 1; Tamara Daniel, Executive Director; Rick Schilling, vice president, District 3; Volney Hough, president, District 2 and J.C. Mathiews, District 5.   


October 2018 ATSWCD Annual Business Meeting

The ATSWCD Business Session was held October 30, 2018 with president Volney Hough presiding.  Hough was re-elected for his last eligible term as president.  Rick Schilling was elected vice president.  Bill Thomas conducted the Resolutions review and voting.  Hough and Executive Director Tamara Daniel provided details regarding ATSWCD/USDA-NRCS funding programs available for Districts and for Director travel scholarships.  ATSWCD is also partnering with NRCS and other agencies to hold Soil Health Symposiums across Texas and dates for three 2019 workshops were noted.